Third time’s supposed to be the charm, right? Pt. 1 #ATinderSeries

Tinder. In a nutshell.

So three weeks ago, I met another person, J, through Tinder, and because of my recent success, I figured my luck using this service was pretty strong.

It was a Tuesday night when we “matched up.” I remember because I was getting ready for bed at 10 and told myself that I’d “tinder” for only thirty minutes. Little did I realize just how long I’d end up tindering that night.

Are you ready for, ready for | a perfect storm, perfect storm?

After messaging back and forth for three hours, we ended up exchanging numbers. Conversation with this person just flowed so easily. And it didn’t hurt that this person was gorgeous!

From here, we texted for a solid hour before this person apologized for keeping me up. I remember thinking, especially after J revealed J’s occupation (medical student), that it was I keeping this person up, not the other way around. I mean, work is hard and tedious, but studying for classes and reading nonstop takes a lot of time and effort. So, before I said hello to my pillow and goodbye to this intriguing person, I figured it couldn’t hurt to be ballsy and ask J to meet up for drinks in general. (Of course this person said yes; I wouldn’t be writing about it otherwise!)

Guess what day it is… It’s HUMP DAY! (Wednesday) – Side note: click on the image to see my favorite GEICO commercial

Wednesday rolls around, we text throughout the day and I end up taking another chance and asking J to get together tonight. And of course, J says yes. Eight p.m. rolls around and we are flirting up a storm as my good friend (who happens to work at the classy establishment we met at) serves us round after round after round after round. Mind you, I expected to sit there and talk awkwardly for one hour–tops. Instead, conversation and flirtatious demeanors floated us past midnight.

So you wanna play with magic | Boy, you should know what you’re falling for.

Of course, being the crazy guy I am, I suggested that we get a nightcap at my place… Very 1950s of me, I know. J said okay and followed me home.

I’m not as classy as this broad, seeing as I don’t have comfy chairs and cool drinking glasses 😦

From here, we were much more relaxed and were able to get to know each other even more. I ended up learning a lot about J, even more than our previous conversations at the bar and via text. At the end of the night, we realized just how late it was (3 in the morning), and since J had to wake up in two hours to prepare for class, we ended up calling it a night. I mean, I wasn’t going to apologize for keeping J up, especially when this person was equally culpable for keeping me up! (I need more than 4 hours of sleep in order to be productive at work, y’all.)

Baby, do you dare to do this | Because I’m coming at you like a dark horse.

Needless to say, after an explosive first date, I was pretty excited about the prospects of hanging out with J again. We texted a little bit over the weekend, and I started to invite J to hang out with my friends at various get-togethers, like Monday Night Margs or Pint Night at Bulldog. I should have seen the sketchy signs then… J apologized for not having time to hang out (understandable), but then said they wanted to hang out with me but could not because this person’s parents were in town. Being the understanding guy I am, I told J “no worries” and went out with friends Thursday night. Lo and fucking behold, J was out at the SAME club!

After telling me earlier in the day they were tired from hanging out with family and studying, I was very surprised. I know what you’re going to say: y’all weren’t dating, it doesn’t matter. My issue with this was I value honesty and being communicative throughout the dating process. If someone wants to hang out with friends, just say it. I pride myself in being transparent with my friends and family and especially those with whom I engage in dating. J even told me they enjoyed the fact that I had been up front about how I feel and had gone for what I want…

So, being the nice guy I am, I walk up to J and friends at the club and say hey, and let them know that I’m going to be on the other side of the place if they want to hang out. I didn’t care at all — I figured, we aren’t serious, so it shouldn’t matter much. From here, I went back to my friends and danced on my own my ass butt off. J eventually joined us, and we had a great time. At the end of the night, I turned to J and said drunkenly, “Just so you know, when I date someone, I tend to be exclusive with them.” I dropped the worst statement you can say to someone you just started talking to. J turned to me as the music was thumping in the background and said loudly that because they just got out of a serious relationship, they were pretty apprehensive about this, but that they also were very intrigued by me and my bluntness. “Because of this,” J said, “I think we should give it a try.”

Stay tuned for Pt. 2…

BTW, for all those readers who have noticed the quotes placed within the text, I pulled them from Katy Perry‘s new song “Dark Horse” Feat. Juicy J:

