V.V. Brown is at it again with “The Apple”

VV Brown The Apple

 

Don’t testify me, Don’t bring me down, Don’t hold me captive, You’re not the apple of my eye. Don’t patronize me, I’m not your clown, Don’t cause me suffering, It’s over now.

V.V. Brown, “The Apple”

V.V. is one of those experimental, non-cookie cutter types who happen to make imperfect perfection wrapped into a three-minute musical odyssey. And with her new single, “The Apple,” Brown pulls off the same amazingness I have come to love from her.

Take the sonic rushes that plague the post-chorus wilderness before the listener reaches the bridge before the final chorus. These bursts of sound wave send the listener further into the song, or as Brown puts it, “to another world.” The beat is slick and different from most things in the mainstream pop music arena. Of course, I love the ’80s feel of the song itself. There is nothing better than ’80s dance music, as many producers have realized recently, with the onslaught of throwback melodies proliferating into the charts.

There is something so reminiscent of Ladyhawke (one of the producers of the single itself), Diplo and other experimental electronic producers that really works. While artists like M.I.A., who also fit into this same experimental electro mold, tend to go over the deep end with riffs and samples, trying to make the listener rummage through the wasteland of disconcerted melodies, Brown instead chooses to create something that could foretell what mainstream audiences will want to listen to, even if it is two or three years on the making.

Onto the lyrics: Brown tells haters (or ex-lovers) to piss off and stop messing with her. She explains that their usual antics won’t fly anymore; she’s not their clown anymore. It’s one of those empowerment, you don’t have any power over me anymore types.

In terms of how it compares to other Brown songs, it’s definitely a departure from my favorite “Shark In The Water,” where Brown tries all she can to keep her man interested in her. She throws up all of the warning signs, including sharks being in the water, the boogeyman under the bed, the werewolf howling at the moon; you know, the usual attention-whore trifles cries for help. Utilizing horns and a sing-song structure, Brown was able to create the masterpiece that eventually made me a fan of her music. “Apple” is similar in melodic, sing-songy structure, but the beat and lyrics seem to be more mature and dark, showing a departure from her cleaner image she had acquired in the past.

All in all, it’s a great first single for her new musical venture. I hope this means the album will feature even more time-bending pop masterpieces!

—–

GRADE: ★★★★½

