Experiment 4 Video: Second Dates…

Contains some coarse language…

For this experiment, I wanted to focus on editing; specifically, lining up jump cuts to work well together. I used similar-flowing dialogue to piece these cuts together, similar to Godard’s usage in Breathless. I continued using mirrors, this time focusing on the rear view mirror and Rachel’s sunglasses. I tried to shoot a macro shot (around the 0:57 mark) by extreme-focusing as much as I could on Rachel’s face to get John’s profile and the actions going on behind him. This added a depth of field and lens angle not possible otherwise. I also tried to do an abstract/dolly zoom shot that faded into a blur transition around the 0:40 mark. I did this by making everything within the frame go from in-focus to out-of-focus. I also tried doing a zoom shot with the doorknob and attempted escape around the 0:11 mark. Lastly, I tried to do a swish pan toward the end (2:07 mark), similar to Truffaut’s pans in The 400 Blows.

The dialogue was all improvised by the actors, as per the specifications for the experiment. I made John interact with the audience, similar to how Michel did while driving at the beginning of Breathless. In addition, I added the “pratfall” of the “dead” character in the trunk coming back to life. That ended dialogue in the film. I found it to be comedic (and genre-hopping) because there was a guy sitting in the trunk of the car who wasn’t dead and John had to beat him up again.

In terms of the lighting during the scenes, I wanted to make the outside brighter than inside the car to show the implied freedom that the kidnapped character (the audience) would feel from escaping at the beginning. This also makes the audience focus on John and Rachel’s sunglasses to see the reflection of the outside world. I made the outside more vivid and darker toward the end to signify that there was little hope the kidnapped character could escape. I changed the brightness by messing with the aperture. My professor has made me hate zooming altogether, and I will probably need help doing so in the future if I choose to do it in a subsequent experiment.

