OMG New @JTimberlake Music!! #SongOfTheMoment #SuitAndTie

“Suit & Tie” Feat. Jay-Z, by Justin Timberlake (The 20/20 Experience)

Allow Justin to reintroduce himself to the music world. This is not the Bieber that my niece tweens everywhere is God’s gift to humankind, but the more versatile-ly talented Timberlake many of these youngins had no idea even existed. This is the guy responsible for one of the best albums of 2006, FutureSex/LoveSounds. This is the guy who could be featured on crap and still get it to No. 1. This is the guy who is married to Jessica Biel. The guy who never does have to come back to music, because his legacy is already so amazing.

With all of this in mind, let me break this song down. It’s not my favorite. It reminds me of his collaboration with Snoop from back in 2005, which is not necessarily a bad thing, but it’s not a great thing, either. The slower, break-down parts of the song reek of Robin Thicke, especially his hit “Sex Therapy.” Also, there are hints of Omarion’sEntourage” peaking out through the beats. Take those songs, throw them in a blender and add “Carry Out” by Timbaland, and you’ll have “Suit & Tie.” In other words, or to sum up, Justin has taken the more prevalent themes of hip-hop and R&B, and combined them to create this hopefully not his first single.

I was hoping for him to build on the sonic-amazingness known as the first half of FutureSex, or his tracks like the title songSexybackMy Love and LoveStoned. While there ARE subtle elements of these songs sprinkled within the production, Timbaland focused on R&B instead of Electronic. This begs the question: what sort of musical journey is Justin going in? I know he’s always tried going down the R&B path, but the fact of the matter is that he was one of the pioneers in making electro-R&B-pop catchy and cool in America. I mean, to me, a song like this would be a nice album opener, but that’s about it. It would not be considered that hit sound I would hope Justin could discover after 6 years out of the game.

Don’t even get me started on the feature with Jay-Z. Why is that even in here? It’s a nice little change in the melody, but it adds no real value to the song itself. “Suit” would still be the same without it. But maybe, just maybe, it will be one of those verses that grows on me as time goes on…

All in all, while I may not be happy with the current direction Mr. Timberlake is embarking musically, I will support him because I’ve done so since the beginning (I’m talking N*SYNC here people). But, for my sake, Justin, please add some tracks that are more electronic-based. K Thanks.

Also, readers, don’t fret. Timberlake is a musical genius. There will be some AMAZINGNESS that he’ll release as the second single (or first single when this gets turned into a “buzz” single). I expect nothing but the best from this guy because I know he can deliver — I just know he can do better than this recycled garbage relatively-okay, probably-going-to-debut-in-the-top-10 hit.

—–

GRADE: ★★★☆☆

—–

What do you think of the single? Amazeballs or does JT have to go back into the studio to save his career?

