#Avengers definitely worth the $10

The Avengers (from left to right): The Hulk (Mark Ruffalo), Hawkeye (Jeremy Renner), Iron Man (Robert Downey, Jr.), Nick Fury (Samuel L. Jackson), Black Widow (Scarlett Johansson), Captain America (Chris Evans) and Thor (Chris Hemsworth)

While I am still riding the euphoria rush I got from watching such a kick-ass, attractive an interesting collection of actors save the world from electric-powered aliens, I wanted to write this post about just how blown away I was from it.

“The Avengers” definitely delivers when it comes to a legitimate, enthralling storyline with zingy one-liners and such great on-screen chemistry among the star-studded cast. Having only seen “The Incredible Hulk” and “Thor,” I was kind of nervous about watching this feature without doing all of my “homework;” needless to say, I am now really excited to catch the other films (most probably on NetFlix…).

So now to the actual film itself. I like how the film opened with the scene I viewed at the end of “Thor;” Samuel L. Jackson’s Nick Fury was summoned to a top-secret base because of some anomalies recorded from a foreign energy source.

What I especially enjoyed was that we got to learn about the characters who had not had a feature already released; we got to know Fury, Black Widow and Hawkeye immediately. This helped me (and I believe the other audience members) connect with those characters before being reminded about the awesomeness that made up the rest of the Avengers.

Being the only female in the Avengers, I was pleasantly surprised at how Black Widow (or Scarlett Johansson) was able to hold her own and even give the other characters a run for their money. She definitely played an integral role in this film and I was happy to see that she was not portraying just another pretty face. It is at times like this, when females play important lead characters in superhero movies, that they open the door for other female lead superheroes to dominate the box office.

But my favorite character has to be Hawkeye (Jeremy Renner). The whole misconstrued identity crisis that plagues the whole first and part of the second act for this character really moved the story along for me. I also felt like he was the most mysterious Avengers; we knew so much about the other ones, and both Fury and Black Widow were easy enough to read and understand. I’m excited to see whether there will be more productions featuring Hawkeye; it’ll definitely be interesting for me!

Either way, this film definitely had the best dialogue I have heard from a Disney superhero movie in a long time (I will definitely make sure this statement is true after watching the rest of the Avenger-related films). All in all, it was a great $10 spent.

Here is the trailer:

What were your thoughts on the movie? Comment Below!

