General updates on life… I have A LOT to be thankful for.

So it’s been a while since the last time I posted on here. A lot has been going on. Let me start by saying that I am SO thankful for all of the positive energy surrounding me right now. God really has been smiling on me this year and I could not be more thankful for all of the opportunities he has given me.

Celebrating with some of my best friends! (The tiger is Peyton Eastman and the girl at the bottom-right is Grace Montgomery)

So let’s see, where should I start? I’ll be going to the BIG APPLE this summer! Somehow, I won this kick-ass amazing internship with one of the leading public relations agencies in the world, Edelman (Here is more information on the scholarship/award program).

Okay, besides that, I’m actually enjoying most of my classes this semester. Sure the assignments are terrible sometimes — what’s the point of doing an annotated bibliography if we have to submit a full-fledged literature review for my Media Research class? — but it’s challenging and keeps my on my toes.

Otherwise, even my leadership positions have not been much of a hassle this semester. My role in PRSSA (as President) has been so smooth this semester, it’s hard not to be paranoid and believe that things will go south very fast. Even Manship Council, Presidential Advisory Committee and the various other leadership roles have not been too much of a bother. I even made Mortar Board last week!

And, on top of all that, I’m 25 pages into my screenplay. Yes, I’m approximately a quarter of the way finished. And, my thesis has not been TOO hard to start writing (mind you I have to finish my literature review for that sometime soon…).

Three of my besties and me in Vegas for my 21st last November. Yes, we did it big. (From the left: Michael Lambert, Elisabeth Parent, Maggie Lunn and me)

But the thing I appreciate most of all are the friendships and memories I have made this semester. At this point in my life, I have surrounded myself with beacons of success and general bad-assness. I couldn’t be more proud of how awesome my core friend group has progressed in achieving greatness. Even Barney Stinson would call my group:

Right now, while I’m working on making sure I make a B in Biochemistry (goodbye 4.0 😦 ), I’m also making sure that one of my new friends gets to fulfill his dream of making LSU a better place. Having met this student leader (one who surprised me so much with his innate ability to command the attention of any audience, and of course his genuine sincerity) last semester, I’ve gotten to know him and am now running on his ticket for Student Government elections. He is advocating for all LSU students to “BE HEARD” and to stand up for what they believe is right. This phenomenal leader is someone I am proud to call a friend: Mr. Taylor Cox (and of course his beautiful and awesome running-mate, Carrie Hebert).

All of my fellow BE HEARD candidates!

While active campaigning has just started, I’m really excited to start pushing the initiatives and speak with the general LSU population to make sure they make the right decision when it comes to leaders for the next school year. This is my first Student Government election (at least on the candidacy side), and I’m surprised by the amount of fun it’s been.

All in all, I have a lot to be thankful for and a lot of people to thank for my current state of elation and success. I have to dedicate this post to my family (both my actual family and my close-knit friend-family hybrid). Without y’all, I’d be nothing. Thank you. For everything.

