Song of the Moment: Whitney Edition

With Ms. Houston’s death so fresh in my head, I have gone back through her expansive discography to commemorate her immense talent. There are too many songs that would fit the mold for the honor of being my “Song of the Moment,” most coming out of her amazing ’80s albums (Whitney Houston and Whitney).

But her single “I Wanna Dance With Somebody” takes the cake.

Artist: Whitney Houston

Song: “I Wanna Dance With Somebody (Who Loves Me)

Album: Whitney

My sister used to listen to this song all the time; literally, she would sing it at the top of her lungs for hours upon end. Of course, every time I hear this song, I immediately think of Preeti singing the song in her car driving around Baton Rouge in the ’90s (My sister attended LSU in the ’90s… my brother and I used to go to visit her on the weekends).

Besides bringing up hilarious memories of my sister and her terrible angelic voice, the song in its own right is pretty epic. It solidified Houston’s position at the top (literally and figuratively; this was her fourth consecutive No. 1) and showed all the critics that she wasn’t going to fall into the Sophomore Slump pattern. Hell, she even earned a Grammy for the song!

Chock-full of synthesizers and other ’80s pop noises, the song epitomizes the ’80s dance movement. With sad lyrics and a groovy dance breakdown, Houston “danced” her way back into the public eye. It also doesn’t hurt that Houston made awkward funny faces throughout the music video — that always makes the listening experience better.

Overall, I’d give the song an A for catchiness, A for effective use of an MTV dance breakdown and B for overdone lyrics. After all, it is a classic.

GRADE: ★★★★☆

What’s your favorite Whitney track? Comment below!

