Song of the Moment: Top of the World Feat. DEV

Artist: The Cataracs

Song: “Top of the World” Feat. DEV

Album: 12, to be released March 2012

I finally got to listen to this song in its entirety after going through the plethora of music I had amassed this past semester. Now, the lyrics may not be comparable to a Shakespeare sonnet or even the angelic Adele, with Cataracs’ frontmen Campa and Cyrano rapping conversations they have with “classy ladies” to come home and spend the night with them, but, “World” makes you want to cut a rug once the initial chorus/intro plays through.

Really, it is around the 55-second mark that I start to lose my train of thought and I begin to succumb to the pulsating beat invading my mind. With slick and dirty synths reminiscent of mindless electro/hip-hop of the early ’00s, The Cataracs outdo themselves by producing one of the most addictive songs I’ve heard in a while since their last chart topper with Far East Movement, “Like A G6.”

Now, I don’t really get too attached to songs anymore, but this one seems to be dominating my iPod. What can I say, I’m a sucker for a great beat and relatively okay lyrics!

GRADE: ★★★☆☆

What’re your thoughts on this “opus?” Comment below!

