What Happens in Vegas Doesn’t Necessarily Stay There… The (Mis-) Adventures of a 21-Year-Old Newbie, the Prelude

It’s been a while since I last posted and a lot has changed since then… I finally turned 21, made some life-changing decisions and even managed to pick up my grades while living it up during college.

While my transformation into the awesome Indian I have become may not have been as dramatic as Kumar’s (from “Harold and Kumar Escape From Guantanamo Bay“) — no illegal substances were involved — I still have that cathartic, lucid feeling that the moments from my birthday weekend will live with me for the rest of my life.

Since my birthday fell on a Monday (November 7 to be exact), I chose to have a celebration on that Tuesday at a local sushi restaurant, Tsunami. My favorite part about this restaurant is not necessarily the food; while it does taste great, I’m not a fan of the expensive price tag associated with such raw foods. No, my favorite part is the breathtaking view of the Mississippi River from the terrace of the Shaw Center.

I was really surprised by the turnout… I invited 20 of my close friends to the dinner, expecting seven or eight to show up, but there ended up being 16! We ended up taking over the back end of the terrace, eating, drinking, just hanging out. From inside jokes to budding romances, the night was full of great memories. I even got to do my first Irish Car Bomb at Happy’s Irish Pub!

All partying aside, I planned to limit the festivities to just that Tuesday, since I’d be traveling with my family and two of my friends to Las Vegas for the big celebration that Thursday (Nov. 10). That was obviously NOT the case.

Wednesday night rolls around, and instead of packing like a responsible human being, I go to the Chimes to have a pint chalice with one of my best friends because I can do things like this now that I’m 21. This friend in particular felt terrible that she had missed my birthday dinner for homework and would also miss the craziness in Vegas; she wanted to make it up to me by taking me out for a quick drink. How could I say no?

Well, needless to say, it wasn’t a quick drink. The more alcohol she consumed, the more she became saddened she wasn’t coming to Vegas to celebrate my big 2-1. It didn’t help that I was going over every detail of the trip (because I planned the whole trip out to the tee… Don’t hate; that’s just how I roll). Between me talking about the epicness that would be going out to real clubs like Tao Nightclub and Marquee and eating the amazingness that is In-N-Out Burger, said friend had been compelled to try and join my entourage in Vegas.

So, in her drunken splendor, said friend hijacks my iPhone and books a ticket to Vegas. Yes, I repeat, my friend books a ticket to Vegas. The night before. A huge decision. The night before. While highly inebriated. (I don’t know how many times I can repeat this part… I’m still kind of shocked at how that scene played out…) <– This is why I feel that cell phones should have an internal breathalyzer (similar to this but actually a part of the phone) to deter people from undertaking terrible drunken the best decisions of their lives.

At this point, since I had a steady stream of alcohol coursing through my veins, I finally realized what had just occurred. Of course I was ecstatic; another one of my best friends was going to join me in Vegas while I lived the life of debauchery and total abandon for a weekend!

Stay tuned for my next update on the whirlwind that became my life as I ventured through Sin City as a legal guest.

I’ll leave you with the song that summed up my feelings before, during and after the trip:

