Living in a #Para #Para #Paradise with @Coldplay’s new #MyloXyloto

Coldplay is at it again with their new LP “Mylo Xyloto.” As an avid Coldplay fan (I LOVE COLDPLAY!), I couldn’t wait to hear the new album.

Coldplay Concert

My best friend, Michael Lambert, and I went to the Coldplay concert in support of their last album. It was epic and awesome!

Though I thoroughly enjoyed the first single, “Every Teardrop Is a Waterfall,” they had me immediately on board after one listen of their current single “Paradise.”

Paradise is the quintessential Coldplay single: not too mellow but also just the right tempo to be considered a Coldplay classic. It also doesn’t hurt that the video has frontman Chris Martin dressed as an elephant. Listen to the lyrics. They may be depressing, but with a melody like that, you can’t not believe that things will change for the better.

The album takes the listener on a journey, full of emotion and self-discovery. I think this is what Coldplay hopefully wanted when they created this diverse album. It’s just full of positive vibes that will have you jumping for joy the whole time. 🙂

Taking into consideration their back catalogue, no one song or album could have prepared me for this LP, except maybe the charity single they did with Kylie Minogue in Dec. 2008 for AIDS awareness (Check it out here: “Lhuna“). If you take that song and combine it with Coldplay’s hit single and title song from the previous LP, “Viva La Vida Or Death And All His Friends,” you can get a sound similar to “Mylo.”

Side note: Does anyone else find it funny that Coldplay pretty much duplicates the sound from its most successful single of the last album and makes about twelve variations of it, then puts the songs together and calls it a new LP? Look at “Yellow” from the “Parachutes” album, “Clocks” from “A Rush of Blood To The Head,” a combination of “Speed of Sound,” “Talk” and “Fix You” from their best-selling album of 2005 “X&Y,” and of course “Viva la Vida” from their previous release of the same name.

Well, either way, I’m loving this new album. There are songs representative of this newfound awesome sound and there are even some that pay homage to Coldplay’s discography (See “Major Minus,” “U.F.O.,” “Us Against the World,” and “Don’t Let It Break Your Heart.”). I only dislike one song from the whole album, but that one song (“Up In Flames“) does not take away from the amazingness that is the other 13 songs on the album. Standouts from my first couple of listens include “Princess Of China,” “Hurts Like Heaven,” “Charlie Brown” and “Up With the Birds.” It doesn’t hurt that the sole collaboration on the album, “Princess,” features my favorite Barbadian, Robyn “Rihanna” Fenty.

So, no matter what, you really can’t go wrong with this album. It’s pretty much the best thing I’ve heard since Foster the People’s opus in May, and I’ve heard A LOT of music since then. You really can’t go wrong with Coldplay.

I leave you with my favorite Coldplay song (“Sparks” from their debut LP “Parachutes”):

What do you make of this new LP “Mylo Xyloto” and the new electro-rock sound?

